Here is everything — and I do mean EVERYTHING — any sane person would want to know about the new intentional walk rule. OK, let’s be honest, a sane person would not have more than two questions about it.
Brilliant readers never let you down. They ask two more questions — and they are questions that I actually asked people in baseball. I just thought they were too boring and unimportant to answer. I should remember: Here at the blog NOTHING is too boring or unimportant.
Question 11 from brilliant reader samlub: Does the pitcher get credited for throwing the four pitches.
Answer: He does not. No pitches are recorded.
Question 12 from brilliant reader Brent: Does the intentionally walked batter count as a batter faced?
Answer: Yes he does. This actually could come into play — a manager could conceivably want to delay the game to get someone warmed up. The manager could put in a spare pitcher (say tomorrow’s starter), have him lob a few warm-up pitches and then have that pitcher on the mound when he calls for the intentional walk. This WOULD count as a faced batter, so the manager could then go back to the mound and bring in the now warmed-up reliever.
This seems like something Billy Martin or Earl Weaver would do. It’s a legal play, at least for now. But I imagine that MLB would not look fondly on such a move, and if it was abused I suspect that the rule would change from “batter faced” to “pitch throw/out recorded.”